Home > Default > Moved to a New Mac...it created a brand new time machine file?!?  Why

Moved to a New Mac...it created a brand new time machine file?!?  Why

October 11Hits:0
Advertisement
It seem since migrating to my new MBP, Time Machine does not recognize my old TM file that has been continuous for over a year. So, not to mention taking an additional 100GB on my Ext HD, there is no continuity or access to older TM files.
Any fix for this? Or just I just delete it and be done with it and get my 100GB back on my Ext HD?

Answers

Brad,
*_Time Machine Always Performs a Full Backup After a Full Restore_*
Actually, this is normal. Anytime your hardware has changed, or you have reinstalled the operating system again, Time Machine will perform a new full backup. Consider the following according to the KB article below:
*Full Backup After Restore*
Bear in mind that in all cases Time Machine will perform a full backup after a full restore. This is normal. Time Machine will resume incremental backups after the full backup has completed. To view previous backups, Control-click or right-click the Time Machine icon in your Dock or Option-click the Time Machine menu extra and Choose "Browse Other Time Machine Disks," then select your previous backup volume. You will enter Time Machine and be able to browse your previous back ups and restore files. [http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1338]
So even on unchanged hardware, if you reinstall your system software and restore your user data, Time Machine starts anew, and you will not be able to resume backing up with the same history as the previous backups.
While there may be ways to fool/hack Time Machine into recognizing previous backups without performing another full backup, they are likely rather elaborate.
Ultimately, though, in a couple of months, all the effort to preserve old backups may seem pointless. After all, Time Machine will eventually purge away that data anyways as it replaces it with new files.
It may simply be easier to begin a fresh series of backups while saving the previous backups until your satisfied that you have enough history built up. Then delete the old backups.
Hope this clarifies some things.
Cheers!

Read other 5 answers

Tags:

Related Articles

Copyright (C) 2019 wisumpire.com, All Rights Reserved. webmaster#wisumpire.com 14 q. 0.779 s.